Reflection of “Gin, Television, and Cognitive Surplus

I really enjoyed reading the first chapter of cognitive surplus and in many points I totally agree with the statements and views from Clay Shirky. It is definitely true, that in the last decades the television was one of the main leisure activities for many people and I also observed the shift from watching television towards using the web 2.0. I see the point, that watching TV is only about consuming and people don’t want to only consume but also produce and share.

Anyway, I can’t understand the point that Shirky considers that “doing something”, like the creation of LOLCATS is better than “doing nothing” like watching TV. As it is a waste of time to watch silly TV shows it is also a waste of time to create LOLCATS or play world of warcraft, even when people are able to produce and share. There is a better use of the internet and before people get so bored that they even create Lolcats, they should think about a more useful leisure activity. If they want to create or share something, they should do such as some art and craft work or spend their free time with friends. I know this activities cost a bit more effort than just go online and do things in the virtual world, but it’s definitely worth it.

I have the feeling, that the internet uses more and more of our cognitive surplus, even more than the TV did. Years ago, when I was still in high school I watched a large amount of television, but from year to year my consumption decreased. Maybe, because the work on a computer got more and more important in my life due to studying and working in an office. Furthermore, I have the feeling that if I find the time to watch TV (sometimes when I just want to do NOTHING or just want to relax) there is nothing in the TV program which I am interested. Therefore, I rather use the internet to watch a movie. I just need to go to Hulu.com or Kino.to and I can watch the movie exactly when I wish to. If I want to produce and share, I use my email account and go on Facebook, but usually I don’t use websites to share content with people I don’t know. In general I only take part in a web site if I need some information, such as asking questions in a forum.

I don’t really understand what Shirky means when he says that “More is different”, but maybe it has something to do with the growth of the web and the internet users. Internet users can now reach far more people through the internet and they don’t even know each other, compared to an earlier stage. If someone creates or shares something in the internet, it is different from past times where someone shared and created something for only a small amount of people.

One response to “Reflection of “Gin, Television, and Cognitive Surplus

  1. I think Shirky’s claim is that even doing something as “inconsequential” as creating a lolcats picture is still exercising creativity… making something where there wasn’t something before. And in this way it is different from– and in his experience– better than passive tv watching.

    But as I remarked to another student, even the way people watch TV is changing because of the web. For many, watching the show is just a part of the experience because before and after those same people will be discussing the show, reviewing and criticizing it, researching the actors and writers and directors through databases, writing fan fiction, creating fan art… all kinds of things. It’s fascinating to watch.

    The simplest examples of “more is better” is the way that unlike traditional information sources, the more people that participate in most web 2.0 systems, the better it works. Flickr works better the more people there are. Sites that connect people with other people work better the more people there are. This is all tied together with different ways of organizing information, too…

Leave a comment